Manly Man

For the first time in my life I’ve recently been out of school AND not working at the same time.  At first I was worried I’d be bored out of my mind, but it’s been rather nice.  I’ve gotten to spend some awesome quality time with my family.  Within this time my sister-in-law showed me a song she and my brother both liked.  They recently had the most precious little girl, and so are learning the whole new parent gig.  As we talked, we got to discussing the importance of Daddys.  Or of men in general. 

Our world is so centered on feminism and equality right now that I think sometimes we forget the importance of men.  Not even the importance, but the God given role they were meant to fulfill.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I believe that women can do anything men can do. 

For instance, women can play sports just as well as men.  Everyone has their own thing, but really.  Sometimes women are even better.
Women can fix things just as well as men.  Give me  hammer and nails and I can do anything.  It might take me awhile and I might have to google whatever it is, but I can still do it.
Hunting.  This is considered manly, but I was raised with brothers and given a gun right along with the boys.

That was just a few examples…but did you notice anything those 3 things had in common?  Yes they were silly, but really.  They were worldly.  The things women can do just as well as men are all worldly.  I can keep up with the boys as well as anyone on this world, but spiritually? There are BIG differences.  God designed women and men to have special qualities that compliment each other.  We were made to have two completely different roles that mesh together as one. 

Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.
1 Corinthians 15:58

I think this verse could be read for any Christian, but I like it especially for men.  God made men to be the rock of relationships.  They should be steadfast and immovable, always serving the Lord.  Not to say women can’t contribute, but men are meant to be the primary leader spiritually. 

So men, take your role seriously. 
And women, let your man be the man.

Leave a Reply

