Past tense? Present tense.

As most of you know, I aspire to be a librarian.  It is my most cherished dream.  Therefore, I adore reading.  I do it all the time.  This also means I have gotten into the habbit of skimming, or reading sentences how my brain thinks they will be.  This is a VERY bad habbit, don’t start it.  It especially ruins studying.

So this morning I’m reading a verse, a verse almost everyone knows, when I realize my little ‘ole brain has been changing it.  Every time.  I mean, I’ve memorized it wrong.

“All have sinned and have fallen short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through th eredemption that came by Christ Jesus.”
Romans 3:23-24

WRONG

“All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.”
Romans 3:23-24

Seriously.  Smallest mistake ever, biggest impact ever.  I sat here stunned.  It may not seem like much to you, but it literally punched me in the gut.  “Fallen” implies that it’s in the past, we’ve been there, done that.  Yet it’s over.  “Fall” on the other hand…woah baby.  We, present tense, FALL SHORT OF THE GLORY OF GOD.  We do it every day!  Now that’s depressing.

Here’s the good news: God expects it.  He doesn’t count on us to be perfect, he’s the perfect one in this relationship.  He’s there to pick you up everytime you screw up, everytime you fall down.

God takes our ugly past and turns it into a beautiful future.  I don’t know about you, but to me, this is the most reassuring thing ever.

Leave a Reply

