Trials & Tribulations

“Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy.  For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow.” James 1:2-3

Good-NESS.  I do believe this might possibly be one of the hardest thing God could ask us to do.  I mean really-

trib·u·la·tion

grievous trouble; severe trial or suffering.

joy
Does grievous, severe, or suffering sound easy? Heck no.  I know that personally, when life gets tough, I tend to shut down.  I close myself off, grab a pint of ice cream, and hole up in my room with a book.  I avoid the problem like a coward!  Is this what God instructs us to do? I think not.
Courage is ESSENTIAL to endurance.  When we are faced with something that is not easy, we’re supposed to stand tall and face it like a man. (woman?)
I mean, when David faced Goliath he didn’t quiver in his room.  He stood his ground even though he was the little man.
Our problems now might seem insignificant compared to some of those in the Bible, but they are just as grand.  The Lord sees all of our struggles, each and every pain, and is there beside us as we conquer them.  He doesn’t put things in our path that are going to beat us down for no reason.  It’s so we can see that we need to be picked back up, the dirt dusted off our behinds, and a pat on the back from out Heavenly Father.  We can trust in Him that we will never be given any trial that is too hard to bear.
Leave a Reply

